Monday, October 10, 2016

Pound-for-Pound Update 10-10-16

There have been several changes to Saturday Night Boxing Pound-for-Pound List, mostly centered on activity. Although Juan Estrada returned to the ring earlier this month against whatever a Raymond Tabugon is, the bout was his first in over a year and it has been over 24 months since he's fought a decent opponent. Now, much of Estrada's 2016 campaign has been curtailed because of injury; however, without much activity or quality opponents, it's tough for Estrada to maintain his lofty position in the top portion of the Rankings. For now, Estrada drops from #6 to #8. Gennady Golovkin and Saul Alvarez both move up one spot as a result of Estrada's slide. 

Former two-weight champion Donnie Nietes dominated ex-titlist Edgar Sosa last month. (Nietes officially left junior flyweight for flyweight prior to the match.) Nietes made 14 defenses of his two belts and wants to take on big names at 112 lbs. He moves up two spots from #17 to #15. Miguel Cotto and Danny Garcia both drop a position. 

It's exceptionally rare when a fighter enters the Rankings following a loss but Carlos Cuadras accomplished that feat after taking number-one pound-for-pound fighter Roman Gonzalez to the brink last month in a very competitive match. Prior to his loss with Gonzalez, Cuadras had made six defenses of his junior bantamweight belt. His rousing performance against Gonzalez clearly indicates that he belongs among the top fighters in the world. He enters the Rankings at #20. As a result, Keith Thurman drops off the list. 

On another note, Tyson Fury will maintain his position in the Rankings until it becomes clear how the various sanctioning bodies and commissions will rule on his positive test for cocaine. 

The complete Saturday Night Boxing Pound-for-Pound list is below:
  1. Roman Gonzalez
  2. Manny Pacquiao
  3. Andre Ward
  4. Sergey Kovalev
  5. Terence Crawford
  6. Gennady Golovkin
  7. Saul Alvarez
  8. Juan Estrada
  9. Tim Bradley
  10. Guillermo Rigondeaux
  11. Naoya Inoue
  12. Adonis Stevenson
  13. Tyson Fury
  14. Wladimir Klitschko
  15. Donnie Nietes
  16. Miguel Cotto
  17. Danny Garcia
  18. Vasyl Lomachenko
  19. Carl Frampton
  20. Carlos Cuadras
Adam Abramowitz is the head writer and founder of
He is also a member of the Transnational Boxing Rankings Board. 
@snboxing on twitter
SN Boxing on Facebook
Contact Adam at:

No comments:

Post a Comment