Friday, March 27, 2020

Pound-for-Pound Update 3-27-20

There have been a number of changes to the Saturday Night Boxing Pound-for-Pound List since the last complete update in November. I'll get to the changes in a moment, but first a few housekeeping items. With the coronavirus shutting down the sport, I will be freezing everyone's activity level in the Rankings. Thus, fighters will not be penalized or removed from the Rankings on account of inactivity. Once the sport resumes in full, an inactivity penalty will be reasserted at an appropriate time, but for now, that won't be a factor. 

Since the last update, the most notable change involves Tyson Fury, who knocked out Deontay Wilder in the seventh round in February. Fury had previously been on the Saturday Night Boxing Pound-for-Pound List after defeating heavyweight champ Wladimir Klitschko in 2015, but was subsequently removed during his lengthy hiatus from the sport. He returns to the Rankings at #12. 

Prior to the coronvirus outbreak, Donnie Nietes had been removed from the Rankings because of inactivity. His last fight was in December of 2018. In the last Rankings update he placed at #13. 

Unified junior featherweight titlist Daniel Roman lost a spirited split decision to Murodjon Akhmadaliev. Roman competed well in the fight, but came up just short. He had been at #19 in the Rankings and exits with the loss. 

Finally, former pound-for-pound king Roman Gonzalez returns to the Rankings after knocking out Khalid Yafai in the ninth round. That performance was a return to form for Gonzalez, who had been removed from the Rankings during a 15-month inactivity gap during 2018-19. He re-enters the Rankings at #19. 

Below is the complete Saturday Night Boxing Pound-for-Pound Rankings: 
  1. Naoya Inoue
  2. Saul Alvarez
  3. Vasiliy Lomachenko
  4. Terence Crawford
  5. Oleksandr Usyk
  6. Gennadiy Golovkin
  7. Juan Estrada
  8. Errol Spence
  9. Artur Beterbiev
  10. Srisaket Sor Rungvisai
  11. Manny Pacquiao
  12. Tyson Fury
  13. Mikey Garcia
  14. Kosei Tanaka
  15. Josh Taylor
  16. Leo Santa Cruz
  17. Miguel Berchelt
  18. Kenshiro Teraji
  19. Roman Gonzalez
  20. Josh Warrington
Adam Abramowitz is the founder and head writer of saturdaynightboxing.comHe's a member of Ring Magazine's Ring Ratings Panel and a Board Member for the Transnational Boxing Rankings Board. 
snboxing on twitter. SN Boxing on Facebook. 

No comments:

Post a Comment