Thursday, April 17, 2014

Pound-for-Pound Update 4-17-14

Highlighted by Manny Pacquiao's unanimous decision win over Tim Bradley, there were a number of changes to the Saturday Night Boxing pound-for-pound list. A sluggish performance from Danny Garcia drops him a few spots while Anselmo Moreno rises with another dominant decision win. The specific changes are below with the new ranking listed first and the previous one in parenthesis. 

Manny Pacquiao 5 (7): With a big second half, Pacquiao won a unanimous decision over Tim Bradley. Although not the fastest or hardest-hitting version of Pacquiao, he may have turned in the smartest performance of his career. He made some key changes in shortening up his shots and taking fewer risks; he was also the better conditioned fighter. 

Tim Bradley 6 (5): Through the first six rounds against Pacquiao, it was anyone's fight. However, Pacquiao made adjustments while Bradley continued to load up on big shots. Ultimately, Pacquiao outworked and outhustled Bradley over the last half of the fight to win. It was a competitive outing for Bradley, just not enough to prevail. 

Danny Garcia 13 (10): Garcia squeaked by with a majority decision win over Mauricio Herrera in a fight where most observers had him losing. Garcia had a difficult time counteracting Herrera's jab, movement and short shots. Although the decision wasn't a classic robbery, Garcia's performance was clearly his worst as a world-level fighter. He drops three spots. 

Anselmo Moreno 14 (15): Moreno put together his second strong performance in a row after his loss to Abner Mares by cruising past Javier Chacon. Moreno also scored two knockdowns in the fight. With Nonito Donaire's recent shaky performance against Vic Darchinyan, Moreno moves ahead of him in the Rankings. 

Here is the complete SNB Top-20 Fighters list:
  1. Floyd Mayweather
  2. Andre Ward
  3. Sergio Martinez
  4. Wladimir Klitschko
  5. Manny Pacquiao
  6. Tim Bradley
  7. Juan Manuel Marquez
  8. Guillermo Rigondeaux
  9. Carl Froch
  10. Roman Gonzalez
  11. Bernard Hopkins
  12. Adonis Stevenson
  13. Danny Garcia
  14. Anselmo Moreno
  15. Nonito Donaire
  16. Juan Estrada
  17. Takashi Uchiyama
  18. Mikey Garcia
  19. Gennady Golovkin
  20. Shinsuke Yamanaka
Adam Abramowitz is the head writer and founder of
He is also a member of the Transnational Boxing Rankings Board.
Contact Adam at 
@snboxing on twitter
Follow Saturday Night Boxing on Facebook:

No comments:

Post a Comment